Duo Sureño

Nancy King soprano

Robert Nathanson guitar


William Neil

01  Out of Darkness into Light

Danijela Žeželj-Gualdi violin

Laurent Estoppey saxophones

Helena Kopchick Spencer bassoon & contrabassoon

William Neil digital acoustics


Andrew York

02  Open the River

Danijela Žeželj-Gualdi violin


Jing Jing Luo

A Song of Unending Sorrow

03  Act I.  The Nightmare

04  Act II.  In the Jade Tower: Love Scene

05  Act III.  The Dream Scene


William Bolcom

Three Cabaret Songs

06 Waitin

07 Song for Black Max

08 Amor


David Kechley

Waking the Sparrows:

Five Haiku Songs

09 The Ancient Pond

10 The Pheasant’s Voice

11 Sparrows and a Nightingale

12 The Woodpecker

13 Spring Rain




Produced by Robert Nathanson

Recorded and Mixed by Karen Kane

Edited by Robert Nathanson

Cover Art Photography by Carey Nathanson

Liner Notes by Nancy King

Liner Notes Edited by Helena Kopchik Spencer

Mastered by Toby Mountain, Northeastern Digital


Executive Producer Bob Lord

Executive A&R Sam Renshaw

A&R Brandon MacNeil

Audio Director Jeff LeRoy

Engineering Manager Lucas Paquette

Art & Production Director Brett Pickenell

Graphic Design Ryan Harrison


CONNECT with Duo Sureño



Ravello Records is the contemporary classical label imprint of audio production house PARMA Recordings. Dedicated to highlighting forward thinking composers and musicians from around the world, the New England-based label's eclectic catalog offers listeners a cross-section of today's up-and-coming innovators in orchestral, chamber, and experimental music.

223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at)

603.758.1718 x 151