David Bennett Thomas was born in 1969, in Westminster, Maryland. His official music studies began in high school, when he began taking lessons with jazz pianist Michael Connell. Thomas says “I knew at the first lesson that the course of my future was set.” He would later be mentored by Lukas Foss, Ron Thomas, Jacques Voois, and Fred Hersch; and receive degrees from West Chester University, and The Peabody Conservatory of Music. 

Thomas has composed in many genres, and his pieces have been performed throughout the United States and abroad. Recently, he has had several performances at The Festival of the Hamptons, and has served as composer-in-residence at The Adirondack Festival of American Music. 

Thomas currently teaches theory, composition, and piano at The University of the Arts, in Philadelphia, PA. He lives a double-life, composing concert music by day, and performing in jazz groups by night.


Chamber Works

Release Date: September 4, 2012
Catalog Number: RR7857
20th Century
Solo Instrumental
David Bennett Thomas' CHAMBER WORKS was originally released in 2005, and was lauded as "immediately engaging" (Philadelphia Music Makers) and "concise and comprehensible" (American Record Guide).