Hee Yun Kim

Hee Yun Kim (b. 1971) is a composer of a wide variety of music including orchestra, chamber ensemble, chorus, and solo instruments. Her compositions have been performed by diverse ensembles across the globe, including Ensemble Calliopée, L’Orchestre de la Francophonie, University of Illinois Symphony Orchestra, Seoul Metropolitan Chorus, Dallas Asian Winds, New York New Music Ensemble, Alea III, Composers’ Ensemble of Northern New York, Juventas Ensemble, Loop 38, Euterpe Quintet, and HET trio. Her music has been reviewed as being “fully convincing” and “masterfully orchestrated” (Paris: La Lettre du Musicien).

She was awarded the Pablo Casals International Composition Competition first prize in France, Tokyo International Chamber Music Composition Competition second prize, Verdigris Ensemble Composition Competition winner, Utah Arts Festival National Commissioning Program finalist, National Arts Centre Orchestra’s Young Composers Programme in Canada, and ALEA III International Composition Competition finalist. Her honors include a jury for Salvatore Martirano International Composition Award and a composition review committee for the College Music Society International Conference, and grants from ArtsActivate and Seoul Cultural Foundation.

Kim holds degrees in music composition from the Seoul National University, Korea (B.M. and M.M.), Krzysztof Penderecki Academy of Music in Krakow, Poland (doctoral diploma), and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (D.M.A.)


Voyage Within

Release Date: December 1, 2023
Catalog Number: RR8098
21st Century
Korean-born Hee Yun Kim returns with a compelling selection of works that reflect her unwavering curiosity about social justice, Eastern philosophy, and transformative change at large on VOYAGE WITHIN. This Navona Records release is first and foremost a journey into the self, and only second a musical exploration. Kim adeptly weaves her insights into profound and harmonious compositions, capturing the essence of her experiences and contemplations. The resulting music is both introspective and reflective, with a foresight and precision that’s almost scientific in nature.