Juliana Hodkinson

photo: Anka Bardeleben Photography

Juliana Hodkinson’s practice moves within experimental music and sound art genres, and her works range from intimate chamber and object pieces through hybrid formats to larger electroacoustic and orchestral productions. 

Commissions include All around (BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra), Angel View (Spor Festival/Scenatet/Berliner Festspiele), Ground View (Ensemble Mosaik), Hauch and Ready for ecstasy (Neue Vocalsolisten), Can modify completely (WDR Sinfonieorchester), Turbulence (Chamber Made Opera), Lightness (Speak Percussion) and something in capitals (Phønix16). Her essays and articles have been published in MusikTexte, Musicology Research, Seismograf, and Bogazici Chronicles.

She has taught composition and music/media aesthetics at the University of Copenhagen, The Royal Danish Academy of Music, Technische Universität Berlin, The Academy of Music and Drama in Gothenburg, Grieg Academy in Bergen, and is presently associate professor in classical and electronic composition at the Royal Academy of Music in Aarhus. She has been a guest lecturer at Darmstädter Ferienkurse, Field Kitchen Academy, and Danish New Music Academy, and has given keynotes at Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, ZKM Karlsruhe, and Kunstuniversität Graz.


Mind & Machine, Volume Five

Release Date: September 22, 2023
Catalog Number: RR8091
21st Century
The critically-acclaimed MIND & MACHINE series from Ravello Records returns with its fifth edition with an all-new roster of today’s electro-acoustic composers. This installment taps into and unpacks the foundations of our universe, from the hidden corners of our psyche to the fibers that hold our world together. Offering meditative reflections on the ephemeral moments in our lives and exploring resemblances between music and scientific concepts, MIND & MACHINE, VOLUME FIVE delivers a sprawling artistic soundscape that allows for deep introspection and self-discovery.