Mary Ann Joyce-Walter
Amazon | iTunes | ClassicsOnline | Rdio | Naxos Music Library

Oxnaya Oleskaya, soprano
Kiev Philharmonic Orchestra
King Singers of Kiev

CANTATA FOR THE CHILDREN OF TEREZIN, Mary Ann Joyce-Walter's debut release on Ravello Records, features two of her works for orchestra: Cantata for the Children of Terezin, featuring the Kiev Chamber Singers and soprany Oxnaya Oleskaya, and Acaldama.

Using poems written by children incarcerated at the Terezin concentration camp during the second world war, Joyce-Walter composed the Cantata in order to evoke a universal compassion and empathy for the most innocent and vulnerable among us. By shining a light on the thoughts and poetry of children incarcerated in the Theresianstadt camp, the composer adds another layer to the global awareness of the atrocities committed during this historic period, further emphasizing the hope that these acts will never happen again. Likewise, Aceldama highlights horrors of the 21st century, serving as a meditation on human suffering occurring on such a large scale that its enormity is incomprehensible.

Similar Releases