Edgar Barroso



On his debut Ravello Records release IMMERSION, ABSORPTION, CONNECTION., composer Edgar Barroso presents a retrospective collection of works that explore his interest with modern science and technologies, social customs, spirituality, and more, using a variety of ensemble combinations and extended techniques for an array of textures and tonal colors.


Commenting on prevailing social activities, Over-Proximity, a work in which the voices compete against each other’s seemingly disconnected phrases, addresses the hyper-connectivity and personal comparisons affected by social networking. The composer examines duration and perspective in works including Sketches of Briefness, Metric Expansion of Space, and Aion, illustrating temporal relationships and the subjectivity of time. Scientific concepts inspire much of Barroso’s music, from the study of variation and change in Morphometrics to Echoic, which features the gamelan’s unique timbre and resonance spectrum. Barroso emphasizes balance, harmony, tranquility, and resolution in works like ACU and Ataraxia, while Noemata and Kuanasi Uato emphasize discord, struggle, and instability, evoking the hardships faced in his native Mexico.


Barroso is a doctoral candidate in Music Composition at Harvard University where he worked with Hans Tutschku, Brian Ferneyhough, Helmut Lachenmann, Michael Gandolfi and Chaya Czernowin. He is Director of the Harvard Group for New Music.


This album includes a web-application which features extended liner notes, a biography of the composer, and more:


- Barroso has been appointed to the 2015 - 2018 National System of Art Creators of Mexico, supported by the Secretariat of Public Education and the National Council for Culture and Arts (Mexico)


- His music has been performed throughout North America, South America, Asia, and Europe


- In addition, he is the founder of the Open Source Creation Group, a group of Harvard Graduate and Undergraduate students who believe in transdisciplinary collaboration as the platform to enhance innovation and social integration


- Barroso’s music has garnered several awards including First Prize at the Jurgenson International Composition Competition (Russia), Grand Prize Winner of the Harvard University Live Electronics International Composition Competition, and the Young Creator Award by the National Fund for Culture and Arts (Mexico), among others


Edgar Barroso received his PhD in Music Composition from Harvard University, where he was director of the Harvard Group of New Music, and worked with Hans Tutschku, Brian Ferneyhough, Helmut Lachenmann, Michael Gandolfi , and Chaya Czernowin. In 2013 he was selected as part of the Inaugural Society of Harvard Horizon Scholars and from 2010 - 2012 was the appointed Director of the Harvard Group for New Music. From 2015 - 2018 he became a member of Mexico’s National System of Art Creators. His music has received awards and performances in Russia, Europe, Asia, North America and Latin America. His compositional interest revolve around transdisciplinary collaboration, allusive sonic streams, technology, energy conflict and the embodiment of sound through objects and gestures. His music has been played by some of the best ensembles and soloist specialized in contemporary music such as MusikFabrik, Mario Caroli, Elision Ensemble, Diotima Quartet, International Contemporary Ensemble, Garth Knox, Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart, Sonodualis, Gabriel Diaz, Matthias Müller, the Callithumpian Consort, Ensemble Nikel, Corrado Rojac, Argento Ensemble, among others. Barroso has scored music for film, documentary, audio-visuals, animation, short films, installations and recently he is exploring experimental video among other audio-visual collaborations. Barroso combines his career as a composer and entrepreneur creating several startups and laboratories that promote creativity and transdisciplinary collaboration for innovation and social purposes.


He currently lives in Zurich, Switzerland where he continues composing, learning, and enjoying the company of his wife Ulla. For more information, please visit:




YouTube  |  iTunes  |  Amazon  |  Spotify  |  ArkivMusic


Release Date:  October 9, 2015

Catalog Number: RR7917




Disc 1

1)  Kuanasi Uato

2)  Innateness is Modular

3)  Morphometrics

4)  Noemata

5)  Metric Expansion of Space

6)  ACU

7)  Engrama


Disc 2

1)  Sketches of Briefness

2)  Searching Your Synesthesia

3)  Catalyst

4)  An Inward Flow

5)  ODD

6)  Kapsis


Disc 3

1)  Echoic

2)  Ataraxia

3)  Metamorphoseon

4)  Logos

5)  Over-Proximity

6)  Aion





Ravello Records is the contemporary classical label imprint of audio production house PARMA Recordings. Dedicated to highlighting forward thinking composers and musicians from around the world, the New England-based label's eclectic catalog offers listeners a cross-section of today's up-and-coming innovators in orchestral, chamber, and experimental music.

223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at)

603.758.1718 x 152