Six Departures

Trio Verlaine
Lorna McGhee flute
David Harding viola
Heidi Krutzen harp

Release Date: September 9, 2014
Catalog #: RR7895
Format: Digital & Physical
21st Century

As leading instrumentalists of their generation, the musicians of Trio Verlaine, David Harding (viola), Lorna McGhee (flute), and Heidi Krutzen (harp), offer spellbinding interpretations, and a kaleidoscopic range of colors in their debut Ravello Records release SIX DEPARTURES, including both old and newly commissioned works.

This combination of instruments was first dreamt of by Debussy who provided the inspiration for future composers. Arnold Bax’s evocative, nostalgic, and celtic-inspired Elegiac Trio (1916) provides the first point of departure. André Jolivet’s Petite Suite (1941) furthers the magical sound world, and is at once modern and primitive. Jeffery Cotton’s Six Departures, written specifically for Trio Verlaine, incorporates the baroque passacaglia form as well as jazz influences and German expressionism. R. Murray Schafer’s Trio for Flute, Viola and Harp, commissioned by Trio Verlaine, provides a wildly colorful and theatrical element, with a hymn-like, sacred slow movement and a fin-de-siècle yearning. With this album, the highly imaginative Trio Verlaine reflects back through the 20th century and beyond, while embracing the future with open arms.


Hear the full album on YouTube


Choose your platform

Artist Information

Trio Verlaine


The members of Trio Verlaine are drawn together by friendship and a strong desire to further this unusual instrumental combination first dreamt of by Debussy. Each player has distinguished themselves in their respective field. David Harding is Professor of Viola and Chamber Music at Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh. He has an extensive solo and chamber music career, having performed in such venues as the chamber music halls of Berlin Philharmonie and Concertgebouw, and Weill Hall at Carnegie Hall. In addition to Trio Verlaine, David is also member of Philip Glass' chamber ensemble, the "Days and Nights Festival Players" with whom he has made several recordings.